2017/2018 Kaisercraft Design Team Application

Hello friends!

Today’s blog post is a very special one to me.This is my application for another term with the Kaisercraft Design Team.Last week I was sent a beautiful box of goodies, featuring a brand spanking NEW collection, ‘LILAC WHISPERS’.This collection isn’t even available yet, so it is like having a glimpse into a super secret!

This range has such a pretty colour palette, with lots of lilac,greys and soft greens.Lots of floral prints feature and when I first saw it I knew I wanted to create something a little bit unique.I have a vacant space on my craft room wall that I have been itching to fill and I decided to create an ‘Off the Page’ item.

I managed to pick up a small wooden clip board from my local $2 store.

IMG_5638

I decided I wanted to cover the silver of the clamp.To do so I needed to add several coats of Heavy White Gesso.I didn’t really stress over gaining an even coverage as I want a really shabby finish.In the end I think I used three coats of Gesso before applying a crackle texture.To finish, I applied white paint once the crackle paste was dry with a palette knife.

IMG_5640

I was super happy at the finished result. At this stage I also painted around the edges of the clipboard with a coat of Gesso followed by white paint.You can see this in the next image…….

IMG_5642

Next using the clipboard as my template I traced around it on my chosen paper, followed by cutting it out.I adhered the paper with glue.

**TIP- Dilute the glue a little with water and apply with a soft brush to ensure a smooth finish once dry.

IMG_5670

Next I applied some Modeling Paste with a palette knife to the beautiful template.I adore the little blossoms on this.By the photo you can see I have applied it to opposite corners of my board.

IMG_5693

Next, I set about fussy cutting many blooms from the printed papers as well as using some of my favourite Kaisercraft dies.Making paper blooms is probably my most favourite thing to do.IMG_5677

Slowly, I began layering all my paper blooms and leaves together.I won’t lie, I really take my time doing this.Often with the help of tweezers! Its about layering and building height,texture and dimension.Once I got to this stage I was getting pretty excited to see the results I was hoping for!I’ve tucked in lots of collectables also.

IMG_5696

Once the bottom corner was complete I started with the top.Look at that crackle!!!!

Once my project was completed, I was really happy with the overall combination.Again, the colours to this collection are beautiful!

Here is a little look at some detailed images…….

IMG_5694

I love the quotes on the sticker sheet.I like to crumple them a little for effect before adding them.

IMG_5699

IMG_5697

IMG_5700

Once completed, I also added some white paint splatters for effect, as well as more of the quote stickers for a main feature.Because I love bows, I couldn’t resist a small, dual layered one added.

IMG_5698

It may not make it to my wall, as I really liked it free standing as well! Hmmmmmm………

IMG_5692

Here’s good too!

That’s all for today,

I hope you have enjoyed my project! Until next time,

Kylie

xoxo

Kaisercraft Products: LILAC WISHES-  P2343 Hydrangea | P2344 Mauve | P2345 Illusion | P2346 opal | P2348 Neutral  | P2349 Jade | P2350 Echo | SS342 Sticker Sheet | CT885 Collectables | F643 Amethyst | F649 Sage Mini Blooms | IT017 Blossom Mini Template | DD516 Vines | DD707 Layered Flowers | DD951 Thankyou | T321 Acid Free Glue.

Other: Clipboard,Gesso,Crackle Paste,Paint,String.

www.kaisercraft.com.au

2 thoughts on “2017/2018 Kaisercraft Design Team Application

Leave a Reply

